Thursday, December 09, 2021

October 12, 2017 IERBC Annual Meeting


Assembly Member Eloise Gómez Reyes, 47th District
  presenting "Certificate of Recognition"
Lea Deesing, Chair, IERBC
 Martha van Rooijen, Executive Director, IERBC

IERBC Annual Consortium Meeting - October 12, 2017

IERBC Annual Meeting

DATE:  Thursday, October 12, 2017
TIME:   8:30 AM to 1:30 PM  

The Castaway Restaurant
Waikiki Room
670 Kendall Drive
San Bernardino, CA  92407


8:30 am Coffee and Conversation
9:00 am

Welcome & Introductions
9:30 am

Closing the Digital Divide in the Inland Empire
10:15 am

Smart Community Policies and Closing the Digital Divide
10:45 am Break
11:00 am

11:30 am

Keynote:  Broadband and Economic Development
  • Honorable Lloyd Levine, (ret.) Former 40th District Assembly Member and Chair of the Assembly Committee on Utilities and
    Commerce; Co-founder, UC Riverside Center for Broadband Policy and Digital Literacy; and, President, Filament Strategies
    Keynote:  "Broadband and Economic Development"
12:00 pm

Grant Funding Update
12:15 pm

Legislation Update
  • AB 1549 (Wood, September 2016) Caltrans ROW and Broadband Access 
    • Caltrans Broadband Access Guidelines to be released January 2018

  • AB1665 (Eduardo Garcia, Coachella), Internet For All Now Act
    • Fact Sheet
    • CETF Supported
    • Passed Assembly and Senate; on Governor’s Desk (Signed by Governor October 15, 2017)
    • $330 Million for CPUC California Advanced Services Fund (CASF)
      • $300 Million: Broadband Infrastructure
      • $20 Million: Digital Training/Adoption
      • $10 Million: Regional Broadband Consortia
12:30 pm Lunch and Discussion
1:15 pm Follow-up Items and Meeting Adjourned

Pictures of the Meeting

Assembly Member Eloise Gomez Reyes, 47th District
Opening Remarks, IERBC Annual Meeting, October 12, 2017
Certificate of Recognition:
Inland Empire Regional Broadband Consortium
Assembly Member Eloise Gomez Reyes, 47th District
Lloyd Levine
Keynote Speaker
Former Assembly Member, 40th District
Co-Founder UCR Center for Statewide Broadband Policy & Digital Literacy
CEO, filament strategies
Honorable Lloyd Levine (ret.),
Former Assembly Member 40th District,
presents Keynote "Broadband and Economic Development"
Raul Alcaraz, CEO, Race Communications presents Race's 
"Gigafy Phelan" Fiber-to-the-Home Project in
Phelan, Pinon Hills, Oak Hills and  parts of Hesperia
Rob Kilpatrick, APWA High Desert Branch
Bill Bayne, City of Chino
Fred Alamolhoda, LAE Associates
John Orta, Inland Empire Economic Partnership, explains
IEEP's new "Smart City/Smart County" award program

Tom Mullen II, Chief Data Officer, Riverside County
presents RIVCOconnect "Gigabit" Initiative

Fred Lyn, Utilities Manager, City of Rancho Cucamonga
presents "City of Rancho Cucamonga's Fiber Optic Project"
Fred Lyn, Rancho Cucamonga
Lea Deesing, City of Riverside
Steve Reneker, County of Riverside
Sherilyn Evans, CENIC
Frank Reyes, Trustee, San Bernardino Community College District
Brad Grooms, San Bernardino County Information Services Department 

Mickey Yates and Greg Walker, Great Harvest Community Center
Monique Reza-Arellano, SBCTA
Mike Gallo, SBCUSD School Board Member and
CEO, Kelly Space & Technology 
Duane Baker, SBCTA

Wes Zuber, CEO, Ultimate Internet Access (UIA)
explains UIA's "Gigabit" Service in Wrightwood and Helendale
Jennifer Cusack, SCE
Christy Elshof, City of Colton
Phen Panpradith, City of Ridgecrest

Steve Blum, President, Tellus Venture
presents Riverside Public Utilities "Dark Fiber Leasing Program"
Deborah Winger, Anza Electric Cooperative
presenting "Connect Anza" High Speed Internet Service 
Verizon representatives Louis Armendariz, Saul Panduro,  
Gerald Iacono, Jesus Roman, and Kevin Welsh

Jason Kozora, SCE
presents "Fiber Network Solutions for the Inland Empire"
Copyright 2021 iMagic. All Rights Reserved.